Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh boy, oh boy, do I LOVE pizza.

I grew up in New Jersey, yup a Jersey Girl at heart, and I have certain criteria for pizza. It can usually be met at a real pizza parlor, not a chain restaurant for pizza. I also like homemade pizza or grilled pizza in the summer. My husband calls me a “pizza snob” and I am okay with it!

Anyway, pizza isn’t really on my New Year’s list of fabulous foods for reducing my waistline. I can’t imagine why!?!? But, I wanted pizza none the less.

So, I adapted a crust recipe from Guy Fieri called, Prime-Time Pizza Dough, recipe from http://www.foodnetwork.com. I basically followed his recipe, but I added two tablespoons of wheat germ.

It smelled divine, and tasted so good. In fact, I think I ate much more than a serving size. Well, that’s what happens when you make a yummy dinner and you have lost your willpower.

Recipe:

1 bulb of garlic, roasted, cloves removed after cooled
1 bunch of broccoli or broccoletti (about two cups chopped, stems included)
2 oz chevre cheese
4 oz mozzarella cheese
Salt and Pepper to taste
Corn meal for dusting
Recipe for Guy’s, “Prime Time Pizza Dough” http://www.foodnetwork.com
2 Tbsp Wheat Germ

Make recipe for pizza dough per instructions on http://www.foodnetwork.com, search Prime Time Pizza Dough. When adding flour, also add 2 Tablespoons of wheat germ.

Sprinkle pizza pan or large cookie sheet with a little cornmeal. Roll out dough in a rustic fashion. Meaning, whatever shape you like or it turns into, just so long as it is fairly even in thickness.

Bake dough about 8-10 minutes, at 425 degrees, until just lightly brown. Remove from oven.

In the meantime, smash peeled and roasted garlic cloves and mix well with goat cheese. Set aside. Steam broccoli until it is bright green, or to desired tenderness. Drain broccoli. Cut broccoli into small pieces.

Spread goat cheese mixture over the pizza dough, as though you were generously buttering bread. Spread broccoli over whole pizza. Place discs of fresh mozzarella over pizza as top layer. Salt and pepper to taste.

Bake pizza in oven for another 10 minutes or so, until mozzarella starts to bubble and edges of dough are golden brown.
IMG_20140108_192231
Enjoy!

