Tags

, , , , , ,

Several years ago a friend of mine brought in to work this, “stuff” called, “bark”. It should have been called, “get hooked on the first bite” or simply, “food crack”. It was sweet, salty and delicious and ADDICTIVE!

So, I got the recipe from my friend so I could make pans of it at home. It was sooooo gooooood because it is sooooo baaaad. The recipe included lots of yummy butter and sugar and the bark was then topped with more sweet treats like chocolate, peanut butter, candies, etc.

Each time I made it, it turned out differently, not always “spot on” like my friend’s rendition but always darned good.

So, it has been quite some time since I made the addictive snack and yesterday I decided to make it for a festive Halloween treat. However, I could not bring myself to use the original recipe with a cup of sugar and a stick of butter for a pan of bark. So, I lightened it up just a little bit.

My lighter version is still delish, but not nearly as addictive, thank goodness, my waistline appreciates that!

Ingredients:

2 Sleeves saltine crackers
3/4 Stick of butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 package chocolate chips
1/2 package butterscotch chips
1/2 cup chopped roasted and salted peanuts
1/4 cup health pieces
(any other toppings you want to throw on top)

Line two cookie sheets with aluminum foil or parchment paper. Place one layer of saltines on each sheet, salt side up. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
IMG_20131031_132553

Melt butter in a saucepan and stir in vanilla. Remove from heat and with a pastry brush, brush butter on saltines. Do one sheet at a time. Once brushing with butter, sprinkle with sugar by spoon. Then do the same with the second sheet.
IMG_20131031_132757IMG_20131031_133253
Place the cookie sheets of crackers into the oven and bake for about 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with candy chips. Place back in the oven, for 2-3 minutes.
IMG_20131031_134148IMG_20131031_134153
Remove from oven and gently spread melted candy over the crackers. Sprinkle with nuts, heath pieces, etc.Place pans in the fridge to set chocolate.
IMG_20131031_135225
Then break bark into pieces and store in airtight container up to 3 days.
IMG_20131101_080010

