We spent some time yesterday visiting friends and enjoying some good old-fashioned socializing (ya know, in person).

Delainie also spent some time having multiple temper tantrums, typical of a two-year old teether; while I spent time working to keep myself together through her angry outbursts.

I think I did pretty well considering this is how the day unfolded:

We made a mess of Cheerios on the floor at lunch, I stepped in them and crushed several into the carpet.

She screamed bloody murder while in line ordering our lunch and I actually had no clue what I was ordering. Salami and brie on an everything bagel w/red onion, red peppers, spinach and veggie cream cheese. Huh?? Oh, well, it was good.

A not so “fresh” baby change before getting back on the road after the lunch date.

Then, during an impromptu visit to some amazing friends who we haven’t seen in ages, Delainie, put on a smile, shared a few giggles and then decided to round out the visit by wailing, uncontrollably, at the top of her lungs, in their office.

As I walked out with my angry angel we made promises to plan the next visit soon. We got into the car, began driving down the road to get Mommy a much-needed Starbucks boost and I discovered the parking ticket flapping in the wind on the windshield. UGH!!!

So much for a frivolous Starbucks treat, (this worked to keep me from a budget splurge though).

We drove to the parking office to get validated within the 30 minute time frame of receiving the ticket. Incidently, we we only two minutes late to the meeter! Those parking meeter people are poised to ticket and quite stealthy.

Then, we went in search of the nearest parking lot for another “not-so-fresh” baby change and a drink for the parched Mama.

I ordered an un-sweet tea, they made a sweet tea :(. They fixed it :-). Then, my little girl was a happy bundle of giggles and I thought, “well, lets stroll around in HomeGoods and check it out”. So we did. I think I pushed our luck!

We go back to the car to drive home and I picked up my iced tea for a sip. The lid remained in my hand, the large cup tumbled over, spilling ice and tea all over me, my seat, the gear shift, the floor. Of course, why not?

I drove home a soppy wet mess, Delainie peacefully napped and I started thinking about baking something sweet and comforting for when I got home.

So, instead of making dinner, I decided to putter around in the kitchen with a new idea for my recently favorite theme, cookies. Oats and bananas have been my go-to basics for making my semi-healthy or not-so unhealthy sweet treats lately.

Being in the kitchen creating something new helped to relax me after a day of running around with a toddler.

Ingredients:

1 Large cooking apple (I used Honeycrisp)
1/2 Tbsp cinnamon spice blend (I happened to use Pampered Chef’s blend, but Pumpkin pie spice would probably work well too)
1 tsp cornstarch
1/2 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1 banana
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup butterscotch morsels (I didn’t use these myself, BUT, I planned to, just forgot)

Icing:

1 cup of powdered sugar
1/2 cup sour cream
2 tbsp milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Dice the apple up, throw into a bowl, splash with lemon juice or OJ and toss. Add cinnamon blend, sugar and cornstarch. Toss together.
IMG_20131009_174332
Pour apple into a small bowl and set aside.

Add banana to the mixing bowl and mash up. Whisk in brown sugar and egg.
IMG_20131009_174843
Add oats and apples. Mix all well. Fold in butterscotch morsels.
IMG_20131009_174928
Use cookie scoop or two tablespoons to put batter on the cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, until firm and slightly browned. (use parchment paper or stoneware to bake)

Cook on wire rack and dip into glaze. refrigerate if you don’t eat these all up! They will be a little bit of a cookie and a muffin texture in one! They are not too sweet, so a nice treat. This recipe makes about 16 cookies.
IMG_20131009_191037
Enjoy 🙂