Tags

, , , , , , ,

So, it is fall and fall brings the idea of comfort food to my mind.

Comfort food brings the idea of unwanted inches on my hips to mind!

As you know, I like to have my cake and eat it too. So, I have been trying to make treats that are not so horrible for the waistline. It’s not easy.

Treats in our house usually get eaten up by ME. My little toddler has a food aversion, so I cannot count on her to help share the calorie wealth with me. That leaves me with finding/creating healthier recipes. The only problem with healthy recipes is that I run the risk of talking myself into eating more of it since it’s, “better” for me, therby adding inches to the waistline anyway.

Will power is necessary when eating good and naughty foods, I must remind myself of that pretty frequently.

So, today, I had some leftover pumpkin puree and I decided I should make cookies, healthy-ish cookies. So, I did.

Problem is, I could only find recipes for pumpkin cookies with odd ingredients that I did not have. So, I had to get creative and it paid off.

Ingredients:

1 cup pureed pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 mashed banana
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

In a bowl, whisk pumpkin and sugar.
IMG_20130930_110905
Add spices, vanilla and mashed banana. Mix until well incorporated.
IMG_20130930_111506
Add oats and incorporate well. Fold in chocolate chips.
IMG_20130930_111828
Scoop onto cookie sheets and press down slightly so that the mixture holds together well. Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes, until cookies are firm to touch but not crisp.
IMG_20131002_075822
Cookies will be slightly soft, similar to the look and consistency of no-bake cookies.

Mmmmmm

