Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t eat gluten-free myself, so dabbling in gluten-free baking was a bit of a challenge.

Why would I even attempt this? Well, I have a gluten-free foodie in the family and she was going through a lot of challenges the other week, so I wanted to make her some comfort food that she could eat without feeling ill afterwards.

Delainie and I set out to the store in search of gluten-free flour. Yes, in my naive mind, I thought all that gluten-free baking required was a substitute for white flour. When I got to the store I stared blankly at the variety of gluten-free baking goods!! Chickpea flour, quinoa flour (which is crazy pricey), rice flour, arrowroot starch, almond meal flour, white rice flour, brown rice flour, fava bean flour…

Uh????

Good grief!!! I was standing in the aisle telling Delainie, “maybe we should just get the box brownie mix”! But, for some silly reason, I really wanted to put my own mark on the muffins and make them myself.

I finally decided on white rice flour, saw a recipe for muffins on the back of the package and thought to myself, ‘I can do this’. Of course, the recipe on the package sounded, “ew”! So, I knew I was going to have to figure out something on my own. But, I still thought, ‘I can do this’!

I will say, being a person who is not familiar with gluten-free baked goods, I wasn’t sure if the muffins were good. They did not taste like regular muffins at all. I got the seal of approval from my gluten-free family member so, I figured I would share the recipe and ask for more feedback from gluten-free foodies. So, let me know what you think!!!!

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1/2 cup cranberry juice
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
2 cups white rice flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
toppings (shredded coconut, chopped nuts, sugar)

Mix eggs, sugar, oil, vanilla together until well incorporated.
IMG_20130913_192655
In a bowl, combine dry ingredients and stir up.

On low-speed, add dry ingredients and cranberry juice. Mix until incorporated.
IMG_20130913_193332
Pour into lined muffin cups. Add toppings of choice, spray with a little cooking spray (toppings don’t stick to gluten-free batters as easily as flour batters I have used)
IMG_20130913_195211
Bake at 350 for 18 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool on wire rack.
IMG_20130913_195754

