I invited a friend over for dinner the other night. I was so excited for the visit that I realized at the last moment I had nothing for dessert. I considered asking her to pick up ice cream or something, but by the time I thought about it, it would have been rudely last minute to ask. I couldn’t just head to the store because the baby was napping. So, I rummaged around and figured something out.

To be honest, I did not think it would turn out well at all. I took some pictures of the process with high hopes that the recipe would be delish enough to post, but I wasn’t conviced it would be. As I baked the fruit crisp, my whole house smelled amazing. In fact, when my friend got here she commented on how good dessert smelled. I thought that was a good sign!!

We ate dinner and talked and had a glass of wine. Then we dipped right into that dessert!! I am happy to report that it was DELISH! In fact, we loved it so much that I didn’t even think to take any pictures of the finished product, I was too busy eating it! In any case, picture or not, I thought it was definately good enough to share the recipe.

Ingredients:

1 bag frozen fruit
1 cup fresh strawberries
1 tbsp cornstarch
4 tbsp juice
2 tbsp sugar
1 egg
1 8oz package of cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup oats
1/2 cup flour
1/2 stick butter (cold)
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Place frozen fruit in large bowl and let thaw a little. Add cornstarch, juice, 2tbsp sugar, stir.
IMG_20130806_150802
Spray 9×9 baking dish with non-stick baking spray, add the fruit mixture then the fresh strawberries.
IMG_20130806_151408
In a food processor or blender add egg, cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar and almond extract, blend til smooth. Pour over the fruit.
IMG_20130806_151549
In a small bowl combine brown sugar, oats, flour and cut in the 1/2 stick of butter until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle on top of the cream layer. Spray with some butter cooking spray and bak at 350 for about 35-45 minutes, until topping is crisp.
IMG_20130806_152521
Serve with ice cream! Mmmmm mmmmm 🙂

