Have you ever had a bunch of bananas sitting on your counter and thought, “gosh, they were ALL green yesterday, and today they are ALL ripe! Better make banana pudding or something”?

You are not alone, it’s true, they really do seem to inconveniently ripen over night. I can vouch for it! In fact, it happened to me just this morning. I walked into the kitchen and discovered yesterday’s green bananas had become today’s almost overly ripe bananas. They were sitting on my counter begging me to make “something” with them before they were useless!

So, I did. I like the results, not too sweet, a little moist and very satisfying as a snack. And, by my criteria, wholesome!

This would be a great snack to make together with the kiddos! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

4-5 ripe bananas
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 cups of old fashioned oats
Pinch of Salt
1 cup of craisins or raisins
1-1/2 cups of chocolate chips or 2 hershey candy bars
1/4- 1/2 cup of chopped nuts (I used hazelnuts)

Prehead over to 350 degrees.

Peel bananas and cut into chunks. Mash banana cunks in large bowl. Add remaining 5 ingredients and mix well to incorporate fully.
IMG_3278

Spread mixture on a nonstick cookie sheet, I used stoneware. Make sure to spread evenly. Bake 18-22 minutes, until edges are slightly brown and center is firm. Remove from oven and sprinkle with chocolate chips or pieces of hershey bar. Pop back in the oven for a few minutes to melt chocolate. Then spread the chocolate around on the bars. Sprinkle chopped nuts on top of the melted chocolate.
IMG_3283

Cool completely before cutting into squares.

IMG_3284

