I don’t know about you, but I always have summer vegetable garden issues. One year I plant too many tomatoes and one year not enough. The other problem is that I do not plan for vegetable yeild all summer into fall. I plant one time, in May. Then I wait ever so patiently, cringe when I have to purchase produce at the grocery store because mine is not ready and then, BAM! One million ripe tomatoes, squash, cucumber. And, not too long after that, nothing more. Obviously, gardening is not my strong suit.

I spent a good half hour the other day grating my garden zucchini and freezing it so I’ll have it for later. I also have some crookneck squash, which I am not sure why I planted, I prefer summer squash. The crookneck squash is fairly seedy and has a bit of a pithy center around the seeds, so I don’t enjoy eating it as a dinner veggie. So, I thought, why not grate it and use it in zucchini bread!!!

Fantastic idea! I conjured up this recipie and I love the results, hope you will too.

Ingredients:

2 Large Eggs
1 1/2 Cups of Sugar
3/4 cup Vegetable or Canola oil OR 3/4 cup Sunsweet Better Bake, Oil/Butter Substitue OR combo of two to make 3/4 cups
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
2 Tbps Half and Half
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
2 Tblspoons cocoa powder (optional)
1 tsp nutmeg (fresh grated is best)
2 cups shredded zucchini or squash (just wash it, cut the ends, grate on box grater. Spoon out seeds if it’s a seedy one)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two loaf pans or paper 24 muffin cups.

In a large bowl beat eggs, sugar, oil/oil susbsitute, and vanilla. Add sour cream and yogurt and half and half and mix until well incorporated.

In a separate bowl, wisk flours, baking poder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg and cocoa powder. Gradually beat into the egg mixture, low speed or you’ll have a flour mess all over you! Fold in zucchini or squash. Pour batter into pans or muffin cups.

Bake bread pans about 60 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes our clean. Bake muffins 18-20 minutes, until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Let cool about 10 minutes and remove from bread pan or muffin tins and cool on wire rack completely. ENJOY!!

IMG_20130730_203309

IMG_20130730_194227

